Injustice?

by leaningforwardtogether

We were asked to post a photo of an injustice.  At one point, I would have said this is a blessing, but it’s truly an injustice and it makes my heart hurt.

I had the opportunity to observe a cycling P.E. class and I was ecstatic because I love going to cycling classes at the gym.  I was disappointed to see two bikes not working.  Here’s a picture of just one.

Image

I was further disappointed when I discovered the class was over-enrolled by FIVE bikes.  So, there were seven students without bikes since two were broken.  The students sat and talked to their friends while they waited for other students to finish with their routine so they could start.  Here are the kids just waiting.

Image

The last picture is the class cycling.  I couldn’t even count how many bikes were in there.  It was hot, swampy, and kind of gross.

Image

I said that at one point I would have thought that this was a blessing, but my mentality has changed. Being active reduces stress, increases endorphins, and provides a sense of accomplishment–something acing a test can’t do for a person once they’re out of school.  These kids are missing out on precious P.E. time and I’m really sad, but I doubt they are.  I hope they learn to love, or at least find the value in, cycling by the end of the class.

